Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Why I Run

Tonight I felt good about my run for the first time in a few weeks.  It was a short one...a little over three miles...but it felt good.  My hip still hurts...icing it now...but tonight just felt good. 

Don't get me wrong, it was still tough.  I had to continue to remind myself why I run, which may have been what made it feel so good.  Over and over in my mind: "I run because I'm 33 and my dad started with heart trouble in his mid thirties (died at 38)." "I run because I'm blessed with the ability to do so and so many others aren't." "I run because I'm training to run a half marathon in support of sweet little beauties with cancer that don't have the same ability (by the way, have to throw in my fundraising pitch :)  You can click here to sponsor my half and donate to St. Jude)."  "I run because I love my body and I want to take care of it."  Over and over...this was what was running through my mind as I was running down the street.

I'm a little over two months away from the big race.  Hoping for another good run tomorrow and then upping to seven miles on Saturday.  Holy smokes!  SEVEN miles.  That's insane!



                                                                                      Jessica

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Worst Runner Ever

Either running is the most frustrating sport there is, or I'm the worst runner ever.  Or maybe a little bit of both.

Let me start by saying I've had this hip pain (I'm an old lady) for about 2 weeks.  At first I was able to run through it and be ok, but this passed weekend I was supposed to up my run to 6 miles and made it about 2.5 before I had to stop.  The pain was excruciating and I just couldn't go any further. 

I spent Monday night with a runner friend and a few of her runner friends and got some good advice, was shown some hip strengthening exercises, took a couple of days off to recover, and thought tonight I'd be able to make it.  Now keep in mind, my long run is only 6 miles right now, so during the week I'm only supposed to run between 3 and 4 miles.  Tonight was just awful...hip was hurting, I had no drive, no stamina...I just didn't even want to be out there.  It was almost like I had never run before.  Ok, that's a little bit of an exaggeration, but not much.  I have two and a half months before I'm supposed to run 13.1 miles.  Can someone please remind me what made me think that would ever be possible??  I'm just so disappointed in myself.

I'm going to give it a go again tomorrow and I have another chance at the 6 miles this weekend.  Fingers crossed...



                                                                                        Jessica

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

First Race!



So.  Yesterday I ran my first race since I started training.  I ran the Chick Fil A 5k in downtown Memphis and I was awful!  Ha! It was a very last minute decision...literally decided Sunday night that I was going to run it on Monday morning.  So Monday morning I got up (late), threw my running clothes on and was out the door.  The whole way downtown I was trying to talk myself out of it.  I was tired, I was going alone, there were millions of reasons for me to turn around and go back home.  But I didn't. And I'm so glad!  What an experience!  It was exciting from the time I walked into Auto Zone Park to register.  There was a band playing, tons of runners, and we got a fun little goody bag. 

So I got registered and headed to the start line.  I read online the day before that if you expected to win anything to make sure you make your way to the front of the start line.  So I stayed at the back.  Literally the back...behind 2000+ people.  The start was a little tough.  It was hard trying to make my way through the walkers, finding a hole so I could get in my groove.  But I got there.  Finally got in my groove.  And then quickly fell out of it.  I didn't run the entire 3.2, which was frustrating, since I've run 3 miles straight lots of times.  It was HOT and I'm not used to running in the day time.  Since it's been so hot I've been running at 8p or later.  I also had to carry my goody bag with me the whole time.  Like I mentioned earlier, I was running late, so I didn't have time to make it back to my car before the race started.  Oh well.  Lesson learned.  Get there early or take a friend to hold your stuff!  I can still tell you the best part of the race and the worst for me.  Best was turning the corner onto Riverside Drive and feeling the incredible breeze come off the river.  Ahhh.  Worst would be turning the corner onto Beale and heading straight up hill.  Lord help.  At the end of the race we came into Auto Zone Park (Redbirds Stadium) and crossed the finish line right at third base.  That was pretty cool!  My time was ridiculously slow.  So slow that I'm not going to share.  :)  But I'm happy to at least have a time to beat at the next race. 

After the race Chick Fil A provided free chicken sandwiches (YUM!) and people just hung out in the stadium.  So fun!

I'm such a nerd, I know, but the most exciting part to me was getting my very first racing bib! 

Can't wait for the next race!




                                                                                             Jessica

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

You Take the Good, You Take the Bad

As would be expected, I get most of my inspiration to blog while I'm running.  And tonight's run was just bad.  B-A-D.  But don't worry.  This isn't going to be one of those "I hate running" posts.  Quite the opposite, actually.  Let's start with an AWESOME update: Last week I ran the farthest I've ever run without stopping to walk or rest.  Guess how long.  4 miles.  4.  FOUR.  I realize for a lot of people that's just another day...but for me it's HUGE!  I was/am so excited!  It made me think back to my first ever run.  I couldn't even make it 1/4 of a mile without stopping...and I just went four whole miles!  Beyond excited! 

Over the weekend I was at the lake...Greers Ferry.  While I was there I tried for a little 2-miler and it was quite possibly the worst run to date.  The roads there could be roller coasters.  Literally up, down, up, down.  I'm not used to running hills yet, so I only made it a little over a mile and a half before having to stop and walk the rest of the way.  In my defense...these hills may as well have been mountains.  They were huge.  You know the hills of Heber!  HUGE!  Anyways, it was very discouraging.  I may have even cried from disappointment in myself.  I mean come on, I had JUST run four miles straight a couple of days before. Ok...it was bad, and now I'm over it.

Came home and ran at the beginning of the week and it was fabulous!  I ran 2.5 miles, which is what my training told me to run, and it was perfect.  I felt awesome the entire time.  What bad run over the weekend??  I was back on top!

Then there was tonight.  Another 2.5...and it was awful.  I had to walk a little bit, and when I did stop to walk it was so hard to get running again.  Only went about 2.1 tonight, but I just couldn't take another step.

Now...the good news here is that as I've decided...I've learned...that sometimes there are just bad days.  Sure, there are lots of things I do in my daily life that can play a part in how I run, but sometimes, even if I've done everything perfectly, there are just bad days.  And it's about time I realized that.  Otherwise it's going to be a long 14 more weeks!  (Can y'all believe I'm on week 10 of my training??  I can't!  Awesome!)

You know, when you love somebody/something, you take the good and you take the bad...that's love.  With running it's no different.  I'm so glad I love it enough now to not let the bad days get to me as bad.  Don't get me wrong...they still definitely get to me...but they don't make me want to quit.  I can still get excited about the next run.  About making it better. 

5 miles this week...wish me luck!



                                                                                           Jessica


Sunday, August 5, 2012

I'm Back!

I wanted to blog today because I feel like my last few posts have been real downers...ha!

So.  I added a mile to my run tonight, which put me at four miles.  I know...just another day for most of you, but for me it's kinda a big deal!  I was nervous, but excited about doing it.  I ran with my friend, Susanne, who is also training for the half marathon (yay, Susanne!) and I have to say it was probably my best run yet!  I felt good the whole time, my breathing was good...it was just...good.  I really needed that after my terrible week last week.  Last week I was ready to throw in the towel.  After tonight I fell like I'm right back where I need to be as far as my training goes and I'm already super pumped about running tomorrow!

So that's it.  Short and sweet.  Just wanted to put a little excitement in my blog as it's been lacking that here lately!  Ah, the ups and downs of training.  :)

Who else out there is running?  Let me know how your training is going!  I love reading your comments...it always inspires me!


                                                                                            Jessica




                                                                               

Friday, August 3, 2012

WARNING: Debbie Downer Wrote This

So this week has just been bad.  There's no other way to put it.  My runs have been terrible (with the exception of one) and I have literally ZERO motivation.  I've been so tired this week and all I've wanted to do is lay in my bed.

I'm on week 7 of my training and in this weekend's run I'm supposed to up my run by a mile.  I would usually see this and be so excited about adding a mile.  But to be completely honest, this week I'm dreading it!  What is wrong with me??  Anybody else hit this "plateau" in their training?  I would like to blame PMS (sorry fellas, it's a fact of life).  Could that be the culprit?  This week I've gone from telling myself  "I've got this." to "What was I thinking?" and "I wonder if anyone would want to buy my spot in the half." 

I know my posts have been such downers lately...so let me go ahead and say that Wednesdays run was awesome.  SO awesome.  I ran further than I ever have and although it was HARD, I did it.  And I felt awesome afterwards.  I was so proud of myself and thought that would have been the push I needed to get going again...to get excited again.  But so far, no.

Next week is going to be better.  Next week is going to be awesome.  Next week I'm kicking that pavement's ass. 

So.  What do you do to regain motivation?



                                                                                            Jessica


Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Thank goodness for rest days!

Y'all, I have done NOTHING as far as fitness goes today and it's been awesome!  I'm now running four days a week and going to a fitness class two days a week, so I look so forward to an off day.  I'm not saying I don't feel fabulous after a workout, just saying a day to do nothing is nice, too.  Today I am SO SORE from yesterday's fitness class and run!  If you're looking for a good class to work every muscle in your entire body, check out Natalie at Jay-Lo Fitness in Olive Branch.  She'll tear you up on Mondays and Fridays at 5am!  SO worth the $5!

So my training just gets harder and harder which means it's easier and easier to become discouraged.  I've reached so many milestones since I started running.  It's just hard sometimes to keep that in mind in the midst of a difficult run.  I was thinking as I was running last night about all the people that tell me they LOVE running.  They CRAVE running.  Can I please get to that point???  I think I can honestly say I crave it.  Usually getting out the door to run is not the problem and on days I don't run I almost feel guilty.  But once I'm actually doing it, I can't wait for it to be over.  It's tough.  It's hard work.  Sometimes it just plain sucks.  So I don't think I can say I love it yet.  Is it possible to crave something you don't yet love?  Apparently so.  Or maybe I just have a love/hate relationship with running for right now. I know I've complained a lot recently.  I'm not giving up.  I just want to be able to come back to this after I finish that 13.1 and know exactly how I was feeling today.

If it was easy, everyone would do it, right?! :)



                                                                                         Jessica